top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Brewer

Artist Statement- Soundscape

Updated: Dec 15, 2021

This assignment was very frustrating for me around it's due date because I had spilt tea on my laptop midway through editing the file and lost all my work when my computer was wiped. I now have an automatic backup on my laptop.


The tea spilling incident made me want to never complete the project and I completely avoided it for far too long. I really wished that I had done it sooner.


I had a lot more fun with this assignment than I had originally thought I would. I wanted to be solely water and nature focused. I used videos in my camera roll and used cloudconvert to turn them into mp3s and WAV files so I could use them in audition.

The most important lesson that I got from this assignment is file management. Since I had to use so many different files and file types, things got easily lost. Since they were not all WAV files I had a lot of duplicates in the imports tab in audition and was very confused and lost by it all but managed.

I had a lot of fun playing with how the sound transferred between headphones and the soundfx given by audition. I used mostly echo-y and ambient effects to give a more eerie feeling around my theme of water.

Using the editing software I was able to fade in and out and stretched the sounds so they could fill the background better. Below are some screenshots of my work in audition and the effects that were added to them. I used the underwater sounds for a lot of them for obvious reasons and that it is actually a good effect for the audios I used.


I downloaded a few free non-copywrighted sounds from Soundbible and mixit.com. I found it useful for many sounds that I was unable to record or transfer from personal videos. Below are some personal videos that I used the sounds of in my project.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundscape

here is the soundcloud link https://soundcloud.com/chloe-brewer-458224693/a2da1?si=d1c6c9da8abc42f6aaf8ea577614b543&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing last 1:00 https://s

bottom of page