top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Brewer

Reading Blog #2

Updated: Dec 15, 2021

Personally, I have never been the biggest fan of conceptual art. It is very subjective and unique, however, I don't like how it is put on a pedestal alongside visual artists. I just don't think as much work is put into the pieces and there is not really much of a direct connection to the artist. What I like about art is that you can see a little part of the artist in each work that they create. It helps you see progression and depth into that individual's life. In conceptual art, I feel like each piece is nothing without its viewer. The value that conceptual art holds is in its popularity and engagement. It sparks conversation and causes people to think a little more into this imaginary concept.


This banana is bull shit no offense.


Despite my negative criticism of conceptual art, I do really appreciate its impact on the art world. It opens up the restrictions that were there before and make all art more interpretative and unique. It ignores traditional technique and practices and allows all artists to be more creative and out there with their work whether it's conceptual or not.


In Cage's 4:33 I really appreciate how innovative it was and how Cage had to have great observational talents in order to come up with the concept.

In the article there is a quote that really helped me appreciate cage's work a lot more :


"That last thought ruled Cage’s life: he wanted to discard inherited structures, open doors to the exterior world, “let sounds be just sounds.” Gann writes, 'It begged for a new approach to listening, perhaps even a new understanding of music itself, a blurring of the conventional boundaries between art and life.'”


His work involves the viewer and has a target audience. It is more of a design perspective rather than a fine arts perspective in my opinion.


I do not agree with the criticism referenced in the article saying "Nearly six decades after the work came into the world, “4'33" ” is still dismissed as “absolutely ridiculous,” “stupid,” “a gimmick,” and the “emperor’s new clothes”—to quote some sample putdowns that Gann extracted from an online comment board". I believe that it is art and that Cage deserves the recognition on this piece.


I do find this music sheet very annoying. What the hell is the point. It is pretentious.

In talking about John Cage I need to bring up how he manipulated pianos as well.


Also while I was doing some more research I found that he was really into mushrooms which is interesting to consider...



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundscape

here is the soundcloud link https://soundcloud.com/chloe-brewer-458224693/a2da1?si=d1c6c9da8abc42f6aaf8ea577614b543&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing last 1:00 https://s

bottom of page