top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureChloe Brewer

Reading Blog #3

Updated: Dec 15, 2021

First off I would like to say that I love the way that the article is written. I found it very interesting to learn the history of Net.Art and the internet and how quickly artists hopped on to the possibility of using internet resources and programming. The origin of the term Net.Art and the guy's email-thing was super fun to me and how it was so widely used after some random error.


The author references Jodi.org and all the coding that is shown on the screen. I am a 2001 baby ( I know it's strange) so I was born after all that is mentioned and I really have not lived life without the internet and it's scary wonders. Learning about the start of the internet in 1994 and how much it grew in 1996 to AOL and jodi.org was all new and interesting to me. I'm intrigued to know more honestly. The names of all the artists involved in these coalitions of net.art show how connected the art world is and how movements like these gain momentum. Artists like to follow eachother's trends I guess. The history of internet art reminds me of the fruition of surrealism and the group of surrealists that made the whole genre spin off. It's all very interesting. The popularizations of websites and fun surrounding that definitely aided in the growth of web art.


I was also very surprised and happy that there was fear of the internet getting corporatized and how they came up with more ending tags to prevent this from happening. Today, there is still concern about corporate monopolization and privacy surrounding internet and social media. Except now I think it is more of a reality that we cant really stop. Just seeing JAVA getting shut down was heartbreaking and how that internet history is all wiped. That kinda signifies the risk of a digitized world and how everything is lost so easily. Makes me scared of the future and it's technologies.


The duchamp reference made me smile, superb.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Soundscape

here is the soundcloud link https://soundcloud.com/chloe-brewer-458224693/a2da1?si=d1c6c9da8abc42f6aaf8ea577614b543&utm_source=clipboard&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=social_sharing last 1:00 https://s

bottom of page